• Kushal Kumar Jha

IPL 2020: DC defeat KXIP in the first Super Over of the Season

In the 2nd match of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2020), Delhi Capitals (DC) defeat King XI Punjab (KXIP) in the first super over of the season at Dubai International Stadium. DC chased down 3 runs against KXIP in the super over. Mayank Agarwal's brilliant 60-ball 89 run knock helped Kings XI Punjab tie Delhi Capital's total of 157 runs.

KL Rahul won the toss and elected to field first. Delhi Capitals were off to a bad start with Mohammed Shami, Sheldon Cottrell, and Chris Jordan taking a wicket each, leaving DC at 13/3 after 4 overs. Skipper Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant's partnership helped Delhi capitals save the sinking ship. After the fall of wickets of the duo, DC found themselves struggling at 96/6 with four overs to go. Marcus Stoinis's magical innings heroically rescued DC with his 53 runs off 21 balls taking DC to 157/8 at the end of 20 overs. Mohammad Shami shined for KXIP with his economic yet destructive spell of 3/15, while youngster Ravi Bishnoi helped to keep DC in check with his spell of 1/22 in 4 overs.

Mayank Agarwal played a brilliant knock of 89 runs

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) had a very sublime start with no batsmen sticking to the crease for long except Mayank Agarwal, who held the ground for Punjab side till the very end. The Man of the match Marcus Stoinis took the crucial wicket of Mayank Agarwal. DC's Chris Jordan also got dismissed, paving the way for the first Super Over of the 13th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020.

Interestingly in the Super Over, KL Rahul and Nicholas Pooran went to play for KXIP instead of Mayank Agarwal, giving a target of 3 runs for the DC to chase. Delhi Capitals achieved the target easily as they won the first Super Over of the IPL 2020.

96 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

©2020 by Freedom Press India.