• Kushal Kumar Jha

NDA secures a marginal majority in Bihar Assembly elections | RJD emerges as single largest party

Celebration at BJP-JD(U) offices. Photo: IANS

Bihar's general assembly elections witnessed a neck to neck fight between the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and Mahagathbandhan (MGB). While the counting of votes continued through the late night, NDA secured a marginal majority in Bihar Assembly elections and will form the government. Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) which had contested on 110 seats, won 74 seats, whereas, JDU which had contested on 115 seats, won only 43 seats. While 4 seats were bagged by NDA's junior allies Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP), NDA won the Bihar General Assembly with a total of 125 seats, 3 more seats than the number required for the majority. The Grand Alliance led by opposition fell short of the majority as they remained successful in winning only 110 seats, despite their huge winning prediction as per exit polls earlier. Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), which emerged as the single largest party in the Bihar General Assembly elections 2020, grabbed the highest 23.03% vote share this time around. The Congress had a disappointing performance this time, with them being limited to win only 19 out of the 70 seats, on which they contested upon. However, the Left parties surprised everyone with their rise. CPI(ML), the CPI, and the CPI(M) remained successful in winning 12 out of the 19 seats on which they contested. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM won five seats while its alliance partner in Bihar, Mayawati’s BSP, bagged one. Chirag Paswan led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), which had fought the Bihar General Assembly elections alone, and contested 150 seats, won a single seat only. Some independent candidates also remained successful in winning some seats. As the counting of votes progressed, victory celebrations began at the party offices of the BJP and JD(U). “People of Bihar have blessed us again, and we are thankful to them for this... NDA under Prime Minister Narendra Modi has done well, and we will form the government again in the State,” State BJP president Sanjay Jaiswal told media.

67 views0 comments

Subscribe Form

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

©2020 by Freedom Press India.